I had always wanted to be an actor.

In year 8 I finally got the chance to step outside of my comfort zone and play my first part. The part was a donkey. We were doing some auditions for a theatre sports competition and I knew I had what it took to improvise for 2 minutes but if it hadn’t been for my friend Kyle I probably wouldn’t have stepped out of my comfort zone and had a crack.

What made this moment important for me was that I wasn’t just expected to do just anything, luckily Kyle had given me some direction, a confidence boost, a step in the right direction. Theatre Sports is a traditionally funny competition so in these auditions we aimed for just that: FUNNY! He told me to make donkey noises every now and then and when he talked to me, and told me to kick him once or twice for the slapstick value, any gaps in action were left up to me.

That was a real turning point for me because it showed me that I really didn’t have anything to be afraid of if I knew I had the talent to at least act like a donkey.

The reason this is important, and why the title of this is called “Finding your medium” is to show just how important it is to try things that you think you might be good at. Follow your interests and you’ll soon find what it is that makes what you feel comfortable when you’re doing it. For some it’s drawing, writing a novel, painting, singing; for others, their medium could be going to the gym, debating competitions, slam poetry or playing a sport. Your medium is an extension of yourself, something you can learn to master.

While I haven’t pursued the life of line learning, hours of make-up and getting to meet Betty White, it’s what sent me into a world of discovery that set me on the path I’m on now.

I might not be where I want to be right now, but I sure do have a hell of a donkey impersonation.

