I was scrolling through Instagram when I saw this little gem, and you know what, I couldn’t agree more, well, with most of it:

Content builds relationships. Relationships are built on trust. Trust drives revenue.

A post shared by Public Relations (@publicrelationsby) on

Content forms the foundation of our reputation and what we choose to create directly influences our audiences perspective of us. This perspective then results in, or may not result in, a bond of trust. Building this relationship with our audience, as shown in the photo, builds revenue, that’s true, but being able to build a relationship through your content that’s firm and genuine, I feel, is better than any revenue you could reap. There’s more to gain than profit when it comes to building relationships. The connections and friendships you make, and the reliability you earn on being a source of good content, and when it comes down to it, being regarded as a primary source of content has more long term benefits than a quick money grab here and there.

Of course, that’s just speculation, I can’t be one to say that some companies  build a reputation solely to see a profit, because there’s more to it that, but I think it begs the question of the consumer to start asking ourselves, what do we get out of the relationship? Just great content? Is there more to the relationship? Am I feeling respected and understood by this company that I’m supporting? Do I trust this company? From my perspective, this is what makes two-way communication so important. There’s more to just making content to see a profit, we should be making content to grow a community where there are mutual benefits for both parties in the exchanging of content, not just one side.

What do you do to build trust with your audience? I try to stay consistent with my updates and make informed decisions on my audience’s attitude. Staying up to date with changing ideas will help in making changes to your content and withhold the trust your audience has in your company.

Please leave any comments in the comments section because I’d love to start a discussion about what this means to you!

 

 

