I’ve been delayed in my posts this week and this is just a bit of a reflection of the last five days and how I’ve been working towards improving my time management.

The last several days I’ve been trying to work out a to-do system that will leave me free of a nighttime but active during the day, and… I think I’ve done that. To a very, very small capacity.

I’ve been reading a small booklet titled “Getting organised” and one of the tactics they recommend is having a Master List and a Daily List. I’m still trying to wrap my mind around the Master List because this is where all of your tasks for the week are meant to go, which I put in one notebook, and then the Daily List is exactly what it says, a list for the day, which I put in another notebook that I carry with me everywhere. In the former notebook I also keep a weekly schedule of events that I’ve previously booked and an hourly schedule in the latter notebook.

What I’ve discovered is, before I even start my days, I’ve already made a mental list of all the things I want to get done. I become overwhelmed with everything I want to do that I forget what I NEED to do. The lists help because I write down the night before everything I need to do throughout the next day, and I move across any weekly tasks from my Master List if I can find the time. The only problem I’m facing at the moment is that everything I think of is going on to my Master List and not getting done because I can’t find the appropriate time for them during the day, but this made me realise, if I’m not going to bother making time for them, they mustn’t be that immediate, and right now I want to plan for what’s now and most important rather than what’s for later and can be done later.

Time management has always been my greatest fault, but I’m always trying to find a way that works for me. I’ve tried apps, writing post-it-notes and short messages on shreds of paper but I keeping forgetting things or I don’t prioritise well enough. I actually think this way of list making is going to help me come to grips with some new organisational techniques.

Or I could employee a personal assistant. I’m sure that would help as well

 

