My favourite thing to say to people is that at the end of my course, I’m going to be qualified to write a really good Facebook status.

cropped-15384359_1181651091925631_1246841645715349355_o.png

I had an interesting conversation with someone the other day where I made a sly remark about not getting very many likes on a comment I made on a status thread and they asked me if it really mattered? More accurately, they asked what mattered more: the number of likes or who likes it?  I answered: Both.

All the content I share on my Facebook I take seriously, it’s me testing my friends list to see what they do and don’t like, when they are and aren’t active and what medium attracts the greatest interest. It’s amazing how brain rattling this is. For example, a joke status I’ll post will receive 5x the engagement than a post relating to a post about communications or politics will experience. Why’s that? Is it the content? Did I post it at the wrong time? What other post has dominated mine as more popular? These are some of the questions I ask myself when I post content in an attempt to understand the best way to experience engagement on my posts. I know what you’re thinking, “But Ben, what’s the big deal, people like what they do and what they don’t, it’s not up to you to please everyone?”

Don’t worry, the last thing I want to do is please everyone, but what I do want to do is learn as much as I can so I can teach other people how to please their audience. Sounds a bit laborious, but you’ll know what I mean when you spend 10 minutes bent over you phone wondering if you should share that post about animal rights at 9am or 1pm for maximum exposure to your environmentalist friends.

So what now?

We’ll, there’s a lot to talk about, I’ve got a lot to learn and there’s always changes in Social that we need to keep up with. So, if I take up that responsibility, all I ask is for my readers to follow me on that journey as I explore platforms like Facebook, Instagram & Twitter in an attempt to help people succeed in their Social goals, learning about modern applications of communication and relationship building, and at the end of it, be able to write a pretty nifty Tweet.

ben-mahoney

 

