Just Having a Think Presents: Social Movements & Digital Media

Video Making in Practice

Before I started making my video – before I even thought about what I wanted to say or the format I wanted to follow – I knew, without a doubt, I had to have the cliche, rousing speech in front of a low opaque flag waving in the background. This was effectively what my video was built around.

Having been practising video making for the last couple of months, I knew the approach I wanted to take. I wanted it to be similar to my other videos so that it could slot into my portfolio without appearing too much like a University assignment,  and up until now I have built an expected ethos around my digital media that I wanted to up-hold. This ethos consists of effective jump cuts to keep the videos energy up and a narrative that keeps the viewer engaged by using humour mixed in with satirical or ironic comments.

How I went about making my video followed the same process as my past videos. I used my iPhone to record, my gorilla grip tripod to keep my phone in place and iMovie as my choice of editing software. I’ve used iMovie for a while but only using the basics. In this video I’ve tried edits that I haven’t tried in the past, and found effects I didn’t know I had access to. There are some fallbacks to iMovie and I found them to be in their text options. More often than not I wanted to be able to create a text box of sorts that I could edit and move around freely, however, I found myself confined to using the templates only provided by iMovie. These were effective but limited me in some finer edits that I wanted to make.

When approaching the content to include in my video, something I considered that would be hard to tackle was going to be the ‘in-text citations’ that would normally bee seen in a normal essay. I opted for a persona to help me include these quotes. The cut away to a considerably different clip allowed me to separate the narrative from the quotation letting me stick to my ethos and get the quote across in a creative way. On the other hand, when I was paraphrasing content, I would only include the citation in the bottom of the screen at the moment I was mentioning it. I’ve seen this format used on other videos, namely “Adam ruins everything” as it prevents a lull in the video and allows the viewer to know what it is in regards I am talking about.

In using creative commons, I went with an artist whom I commonly use in my videos. Heidas’ music is something I’ve come to feel runs parallel with the tone of my videos and in this video I have several of their tracks. Other creative commons material culminates in the rousing speech towards the end. This is a nod to most patriotic American speeches and something I was excited to try. What I found difficult here was finding suitable music.

Aside from this, there were several other challenges I was met with. As mentioned before, there were finer edits in the text templates which I’d hope I could have made. Another challenge I was met with, and something that was rather crucial I made sure to stay within, was the time frame. The length of my video, I feel touches too closely to the maximum time constraint, but I had edited down the video considerably to make this time constraint. On one hand, I could have planned better for the length of the video, but on the same token, I believe I remained engaging enough throughout the video to merit the slightly longer run time.

My wider online identity

#CheckThatTiffitScore – My online identity has changed since my last assignment. I’ve taken a more reserved seat to Twitter to focus on other things. At the end of this unit I’m looking at changing how I do things and recreating some things, like my blog, to better reflect what I want to drive my online identity.

References

Carty, V 2015, Social movements and new technology, Westview, New York, pp. 1-16

Labeouf, S, Ronkko & Turner 2017, He will not divide us, Museum of the Moving Image, retreived 31 January 2017, http://www.hewillnotdivide.us/

Rambukkana, N 2016, Hashtag Publics: The Power And Politics Of Discursive Networks, Peter Lang Inc., International Academic Publishers, New York.

Seth, A 2008, ‘Understanding Participatory Media Using Social Networks’, School of computer science, University of Waterloo, ON, Canada, retrieved 31 January 2017

Turner E 2013, ‘New Movements, Digital Revolution, and Social Movement Theory’, Peace Review, 25, 3, pp. 376-383, Political Science Complete, EBSCOhost, viewed 31 January 2017.

Creative Commons

Flag of Australia by David AE Levy (CC-BY 3.0 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SB2VSjA3NGo)

Merica (Oh god why) by Duffy Elmer CC-BY SA 3.0 https://soundcloud.com/duffyelmer/10-merica-oh-god-why)

Drive by Nicolai Heidas (CC-BY 4.0 https://soundcloud.com/nicolai-heidlas/drive-fresh-upbeat-pop-background-music

Klonkey Donkey by Nicolai Heidas (CC-BY 4.0 https://soundcloud.com/nicolai-heidlas/klonkey-donkey-comedy-piano-background-track)

Leave a Reply

